Astrological Signs

Astrological Signs

The word Zodiac literally means animals. It refers to the patterns or configurations of creatures as seen in the stars.

Aries (Mar 21- Apr 19) – The Pioneer of the Zodiac, Aries is ruled by MARS, and its symbol is the RAM. Its natural place is the FIRST HOUSE, the house of Personal Identity. Independent Aries is a FIRE sign, impulsive and energetic. Rarely looking before it leaps, Aries sometimes has a problem completing tasks, too caught up in the allure of the Next Big Thing.
Taurus (Apr 20 – May 20) – The Builder of the Zodiac, Taurus is ruled by VENUS, and its symbol is the BULL. Its natural place is the SECOND HOUSE, the house of Possessions. Productive Taurus is an EARTH sign, reliable and materialistic. With a fine aesthetic sense and stubborn will to have things its own way, Taurus invariably surrounds itself with material beauty — be it artistic or natural.
Gemini (May 21 – Jun 20) – The Communicator of the Zodiac, Gemini is ruled by MERCURY, and its symbol is the TWINS. Its natural place is the THIRD HOUSE, the house of Communication. Curious Gemini is an AIR sign, analytical and ever-changing. Often times overly intellectual and unstable, Gemini reserves the right to change its mind, often “forgetting” to communicate the unpleasant.
Cancer (Jun 21 – July 22) –  The Home-Maker of the Zodiac, Cancer is ruled by THE MOON, and its symbol is the CRAB. Its natural place is the FOURTH HOUSE, which is concerned with Matters of Home Life. Nurturing Cancer is a WATER sign, supportive and emotional. Prone to emotional tides, a Cancer believes “a man’s home is his castle” — and cocooning a legitimate lifestyle choice.
Leo (Jul 23 – Aug 22)-  The Entertainer of the Zodiac, Leo is ruled by THE SUN, and its symbol is the LION. Its natural place is the FIFTH HOUSE, the house of Children and Pleasure. Expressive Leo is a FIRE sign, creative and grandiose. Keep Leo at the center of attention, and you’ll both be happy.
Virgo (Aug 23 -Sep 22) – The Perfectionist of the Zodiac, Virgo is ruled by MERCURY, and its symbol is the VIRGIN. Its natural place is the SIXTH HOUSE, the house of Work and Duty. Practical Virgo is an EARTH sign, detail-oriented and obsessive. Clean-freak Virgo wants a tidy desktop — and will do anything to get it.
Libra (Sep 23 – Oct 22)-  The Diplomat of the Zodiac, Libra is ruled by VENUS, and its symbol is the SCALES. Its natural place is the SEVENTH HOUSE, the house of Partnerships. Peace-loving Libra is an AIR sign, tactful and decisive. Depending on how the scales tip, Libra can be a brilliant creator — or a babbling madman.
Scorpio (Oct 23 – Nov 21)-  The Seducer of the Zodiac, Scorpio is ruled by PLUTO, and its symbol is the SCORPION. Its natural place is the EIGHTH HOUSE, the house of Passions — Sex, Birth, and Death. Intense Scorpio is a WATER sign, secretive and magnetic. Strong-willed Scorpio’s heart is closed to all but an intimate few — but its still waters run deep.
Sagittarius (Nov 22 – Dec 21)-  The Gambler of the Zodiac, Sagittarius is ruled by JUPITER, and its symbol is the ARCHER. Its natural place is the NINTH HOUSE, the house of Travel and Philosophy. Expansive Sagittarius is a FIRE sign, goal-oriented and optimistic. Blunt Sag is always willing to help, particularly if also promoting its own advancement.
Capricorn (Dec 22 – Jan 19)-  The Organizer of the Zodiac, Capricorn is ruled by SATURN, and its symbol is the SEA-GOAT. Its natural place is the TENTH HOUSE, the house of Status and Career. Ambitious Capricorn is an EARTH sign, worry-prone and steadfast. Come to Capricorn with your troubles, and be prepared for worried — even meddling — advice, but also a strong shoulder to lean on.
Aquarius  (Jan 20 – Feb 18) – The Scientist of the Zodiac, Aquarius is ruled by URANUS, and its symbol is the WATER-BEARER. Its natural place is the ELEVENTH HOUSE, the house of Friendships and Experimentation. Revolutionary Aquarius is an AIR sign, idealistic and inventive. Aquarius often moodswings, optimistically reforming the social structure one minute, then despondent at the impossibility of perfect happiness the next.
Pisces (Feb 19 – Mar 20) – The Mystic of the Zodiac, Pisces is ruled by NEPTUNE, and its symbol is the FISH. Its natural place is the TWELFTH HOUSE, the house of Sorrow and Karma. Intuitive Pisces is a WATER sign, sensitive and adaptable. A chameleon, insecure Pisces can powerfully attain the attributes of any other sign — all to help it fit in.

Here are two mnemonics to help you remember the order of the zodiac:

The Ram, the Bull, the Heavenly Twins (Aries, Taurus, Gemini)
Next the Crab, and the Lion shines (Cancer, Leo)
The Virgin and the Scales (Virgo, Libra)
The Scorpion, Archer, and He-Goat (Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn)
Then the Man with the Watering Pot (Aquarius)
And the Fish with the glittering scales (Pisces)


Ram-Bull Twins Crab Li-Vir-ish, Scalely Scorpions Ar-Good Water Fish

For more about your star sign and for your daily horoscope have a look at